Zoo Diares: Rascalisms

Now that we’ve gotten some updates about me and Kyle out of the way, let’s move on to a more important topic: What has Rascal been up to?!

zoodiaries_rascalcinna

This puppy seems to get more affectionate everyday. Since the new cat, Shrek, has arrived, I’ve been noticing how well he and the other cats interact. Don’t get me wrong, he still tries to hump them at least once a day and bothers them when they’re sleeping, but on the whole they get along so well. They clean each other’s ears, and Godiva and him still play-fight constantly.

Shrek and Rascal are slowly building their relationship. Shrek is terrified of Rascal, but also loves to terrify Rascal by running at him, swatting, and running away. Rascal is scared of Shrek, but also really wants to play with him. Some days he just stands there and barks at him. On Friday Shrek meowed loudly at Rascal, and Rascal jumped into my lap.

But back to that affectionate thing. Rascal wasn’t a cuddlier until about 6 months. We maybe kind of forced it on him. Now, I fall asleep most nights with him pressed against my shins. He’s also a bed hog and sleeps as soundly as Kyle. So when I get up in the middle of the night to pee and he takes my spot in the bed, I literally have to pick him up and move him. But sleepy Rascal is best Rascal so it’s kind of okay.

zoodiares_kyle1

Rascal has also taken to sleeping under the covers- but only after 5 a.m. or so. He nudges me awake and I let him in because I’m a pushover. On Friday morning he mistook my t-shirt for the covers, got stuck in my shirt, freaked out and scratched the shit out of me as I tried to get him out. I was so mad when it happened, but now just thinking about it makes me laugh.

He is the epitome of a lap dog. Even when lap is occupied, he wants to be in it. One day last week he managed to nudge himself under my laptop. He has finally stopped trying to fight belly rubs (we used to get nibbled if he willingly rolled over) and enjoys between the eye pets as well.

zoodiares_noserub

After that time Rascal ate a whole pack of gum, we started putting a little more effort into his training. Dog training is such a bizarre thing to me. Mostly because I’ve never had a dog, I’m sure. Rascal usually gets the concept withing the first 10-15 minutes. But it then takes another ~2 months for him to do it consistently. So just now are we really seeing the returns of what we started in July.

I also never realized how much of dog training was practical training. Potty training, obviously. But commands like “off” (to stop leaning on the counter/ jumping on someone), “leave it,” and “stay” come in handy pretty much every day. My other favorite command is a tongue click to keep him moving when we’re on a walk, because he’s a curious pup and wants to stop and smell everything. We’re slowly starting the process of teaching him to be off the leash. We’ve only taken a few test runs, but so far so good.

All is well in the world of Rascal.

We might be a little obsessed with him. Don’t tell anyone, k?

Leave a Reply

