May Foodie Penpals

Dana has been participating in the Foodie Penpals program run by Lindsey from the Lean Green Bean for a few months now. I was planning to sign up for April, but I missed the deadline. This time, our roles were reversed, and I was matched with Kristen from Pudgie Pies.

20140521_210402

Lancaster Vanilla and Caramel Soft Cremes: These were fantastic. I mean, how could they not be? Every time I opened the bag, Rascal came running to beg. I didn’t give him any, of course, but I did let him try a piece of…

Venison jerky: I love jerky when it’s done right, but the good stuff can be difficult to find – there are too many dry, tough jerkies out there. This, though? I was shocked by how tender it was. I’ve only eaten venison a few times in my life, but I’m definitely starting to develop a taste for it.

Maple candy: I love maple. Who doesn’t? Terrorists, that’s who.

Amish soft pretzel mix: I’m planning to use this over the weekend. Being from the Philly area and living in Pittsburgh means I don’t often get to enjoy a soft pretzel too often. I’ve also never made my own before, so I’m really looking forward to these.

Biscoff spread: I had a feeling this would show up in my box – Kristen mentioned that she had received something in an early box that she now sends to everyone, and knowing how delicious Biscoff/cookie butter/speculoos is, I figured this would be it. I haven’t opened this jar yet, but when I do it’ll go quickly.

“Chicken Poop” lip balm: I never buy lip balm for myself, but I probably ought to start – especially in the winter months. This stuff is pretty great.

Coconut oil: While we were exchanging e-mails about our tastes, I mentioned that I like the flavor of coconut, but can’t stand the texture of it when shredded. Ergo, coconut oil. Dana uses this pretty much constantly, so I gave it to her. It’ll almost certainly go into a few meals and baked goods that she gives me.

Turkish taffy: I’m nowhere near as big of a fan of chocolate as Dana, our roommates, or pretty much everyone I’ve ever met. I like it, don’t get me wrong. I’m just not obsessed with it. But this was good.

Pocky: I would say this was my least favorite item in the box, but that’s more to do with the other stuff being great than not liking it.

Blueberry whirl lollipop: Haven’t tried yet, but looks good.

Also included were a note pad and a book of s’more recipes (which may come in handy since we’re going camping in a couple of weeks). Thanks for a great first experience with the Foodie Penpal program, Kristen!

If you’d like to sign up, check it out here. You don’t need to have a blog to participate.

3 thoughts on “May Foodie Penpals

  1. Don’t forget to post about the different s’mores you make while camping!!! I am very interested in hearing about the different s’mores recipes you have =)

    • I am actually not much of a s’mores person – I’m not big on marshmallows so I feel like the mess isn’t worth it, and invariably just eat chocolate and graham crackers. But I am definitely bringing it along and I’m sure Dana and the gang will try out a few different styles!

Leave a Reply

