Salad Season

I’ve mentioned it before, but one of the (many) things I love about summer is salad.

2014-04-22 17.52.26

However…. I’ve been having a problem with food boredom lately. It’s mostly my fault for doing things like consuming 4 large batches of curry style dishes over the course of 3 weeks.

In an effort to to not burn myself out on salad, I’m trying to change things up on a consistent basis.  And since I love brussel sprouts so much, I thought maybe I’d try them out for a salad base.

Boredom Curing Sprout Salad


2014-04-22 17.54.21


Makes 6 large servings

Ingredients!
~15 brussel sprouts (/ one package from Trader Joe’s)
– 1/2 head of cauliflower
– 1/2 red onion
– 1 c pea sprouts (also found these at Trader Joe’s)
– 3/4 c walnuts
– apple cider vinegar
– olive oil
– garlic powder
– 1/2 c Vegan Parm

2014-04-22 17.55.22Steps!
1. Chop and rinse brussel sprouts, pea sprouts, cauliflower, onion, walnuts. Add to a giant bowl and mix.
2. Make and add vegan parm.
3. Drizzle oil, acv and add garlic powder. Taste test and add more until your desired dressing flavor has been reached

Notes:
The chopping is the hardest part of this (as it should be- I mean it’s a freaking salad)

I didn’t include measurements for the dressing because I don’t really do salad dressing, so I don’t know what salad with dressing is supposed to taste like.

I’m sure you can use regular parm- but that recipe is both the easiest and most delicious vegan cheese I’ve ever had.

Annnnd that’s all folks.
Happy salad munching!

2 thoughts on “Salad Season

Leave a Reply

