Quin-what?

That’s what I thought when I first heard of it. I think my friend Alyssa introduced it to me before it was cool. Honestly the initial attraction for me was that it was a grain I really liked.

Boy, was I naïve.

1. Turns out quinoa’s is not a grain, it’s a seed so it’s gluten free. While I don’t avoid gluten, I do try to avoid white/ refined carbs- and quinoa only comes as a whole seed.

2. I recently fell in love with brown rice, but when I was first introduced to quinoa I didn’t really like rice very much. I later found out that quinoa is actually more nutritious than brown rice.

quinwhat

 

photo from Google

3. Quinoa is a complete protein, meaning it has all the essential amino acids that the body can’t make on its own, which makes it great for vegetarians! Normally to get complete protein you would need to combine foods (like rice and beans). [Source/ More ino]

4. Quinoa is related to leafy green vegetables like kale and Swiss chard (tangent: I am so excited to play around with new to me leafy greens in my farmshare this summer!).

6. It comes in seven different colors! Though according to Bob, of Bob’s Red Mill, there’s really no difference between the two.

 

So now that I’ve convinced you to eat quinoa- how the hell do you use it? Here are some of my favorites.

photo from The Kitchn

The kitchn- how to cook perfect quinoa

 

Meat Eater Approved Recipes

Vegetarian Thai Chili

Feel Good Lunch Bowl

Roasted Red Pepper and Feta Quinoa Salad

 

 

 

What are your favorite quinoa recipes?!

Leave a Reply

