Perfect Scrambled Tofu

Before the original location closed in the fall, The Quiet Storm was my favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh. They specialized in vegan/vegetarian food, milkshakes, and damn good coffee. The café was perfectly eclectic, from the mismatched chairs and booths to the recycled Sriracha bottle used for hand soap in the bathroom.


photo from The Quiet Storm’s Facebook Page

The Quiet Storm is responsible for introducing me to scrambled tofu. Shortly after falling in love with it, I proclaimed to Kyle that if I could make it at home as well as they did, I would never bother with scrambled eggs again.

It wasn’t until the café closed (rest in peace) that I got around to perfecting my own recipe. After many mornings of trial and error, I finally have it down.

2014-03-08 10.09.04

Quick tips:

Tofu: any tofu should work, but I’ve found that spouted tofu is my favorite. It’s a little firmer and has a bit more protein.

Spices: Don’t skip the turmeric! I tried to make it without the turmeric in the beginning (even though every recipe I consulted used it) and it just wasn’t the same.

 

Perfect Quiet Storm Style Scrambled Tofu

2014-03-08 09.54.41

Ingredients:

  • ~4 oz tofu (I use about 1/2 tub of Trader Joe’s sprouted tofu)
  • Olive oil
  • 2 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • a few shakes of garlic salt
  • Sriracha
  • Optional: frozen corn, Mmm sauce, tortilla or toast for serving

Method:

1. Drain the tofu and wrap it in some paper towels. Sit something heavy on top of it to squeeze the water out (I use cast iron pans). Let it drain for 10 minutes or so.

Note: This is less time than I usually press tofu, since this cooking method will remove some more of the excess water

I typically press more than one serving at a time. Tofu stays fresh for a few days after you open it.

2. Heat up your pan and drizzle it with oil. When the oil moves around easily it’s time to add the tofu.

2014-03-08 10.00.27

3. Crumble the tofu over the pan. Smaller pieces = more surface area = better flavored tofu.

2014-03-08 10.01.59

4. Toss the tofu around in the pan until the pieces are coated in oil, then add the spices. Add the frozen corn now, if desired. Sauté tofu and optional corn until tofu has just started to brown.

5. Add Sriracha and mmm sauce as desired! I’ve been adding Mama Pea’s mmm sauce to everything lately and it balances out the heat of the Sriracha pretty nicely.

2014-03-08 10.11.01

And there you have it. If you like tofu and have never tried it this way, you need to give it a shot 🙂 And let me know how it goes!

2014-03-08 10.09.26

 

Talk to us!

Have you ever tried scrambled tofu?

3 thoughts on “Perfect Scrambled Tofu

  1. i’ve been waiting for this!!and turmeric is the most healthy ingredient of all. People with Crohn’s disease swear by it. It is excellent so I love that it is included.

  2. Pingback: Picture This (3/14/2014) | Abbott House Adventures

Leave a Reply

