Good Reads 2/4/14

Time for a another post of recommended reads. Enjoy!

Dana’s List:

I loved this article: There’s something about Pittsburgh. I hate the weather, but I love this place.

I may have actually drooled over this recipe for Red Velvet Waffles.

Sometimes we all need that reminder that, Hey, It’s Ok (side: huge fan of this blog).

The only thing I’d change about the Abbott House is the amount of storage. Maybe these cheap kitchen organizers will help?! I want them all.

Kyle’s List:

No one would mistake me for an environmentalist or a hippie, but lessening our dependence on oil seems pretty practical at this point. To that end, this is an exciting development. Tesla (or its successors) have their work cut out for them, mainly in terms of making their product more affordable.

Like most twentysomething Americans, I learn most of what I know about society’s ills from Cracked articles like this one. As with anything on that site, it should probably be taken with a grain of salt. But still…kinda fucked up, isn’t it?

Speaking of fucked up, how about this?

There were a number of well-written tributes in the wake of Philip Seymour Hoffman’s untimely, major bummer of a death, but this may have been my favorite.

“To all our listeners, this is what I have to say – God bless you all. And as for you bastards in charge, don’t dream it’s over. Years will come, years will go, and politicians will do fuck all to make the world a better place. But all over the world, young men and young women will always dream dreams and put those dreams into song. Nothing important dies tonight, just a few ugly guys on a crappy ship. The only sadness tonight is that, in future years, there’ll be so many fantastic songs that it will not be our privilege to play. But, believe you me, they will still be written, they will still be sung and they will be the wonder of the world.”

Leave a Reply

