These are a few of my favorite things…POLAR VORTEX DOS

I totally missed this post last week!

Then I wrote it with gusto on Wednesday…. and forgot to post it.

Bear with us folks. Uh, well, with me anyway.

GRATITUDE:

2014-01-28 06.13.20

Working from home- especially when I wake up to this. I found that Godiva was actually way more distracting than Rascal because she wanted to be in my lap at all times (which is way better than being kitten-less at the office).

Layers! They are the key to winter happiness, beyond pretty much anything else. I own at least 15 scarves, 5+ pairs of hairs and gloves, so many thick socks, and several pairs of leggings. I have not left the house without wearing one of each since Pittsburgh froze over.

2014-01-26 19.11.17

How much my mom loves Valentines Day. I think every year I get a package and an apology: “I know you hate it but I saw a few things…”, and yet I’m still always surprised. To be honest though, I’m starting to like Valentine’s Day (you’re the best, Mom!).

Peppermint tea and the feeling of being warmed from the inside out. Related: free coffee at work.

Frozen & the direction Disney Princess movies have been going recently (aka. Brave). Kyle’s nieces, who we visited last weekend, are obsessed. After seeing it, I totally get it- the boys totally take the back seat to the plot & the sister duo are downright spunky.

Books I can completely loose myself into (I finished The Maze Runner last week). One of my 2013 resolutions was to read at least 1 book per month. I exceeded that by leaps and bounds and all of sudden remembered why I was a book worm of a kid.

Endorphins & feeling sore. The thing that has been getting me most about the cold weather is how much harder it is to move! But all the days I have, things has been a bit better. I cannot wait to take Rascal on a hike this weekend!

2014-02-01 12.40.41

Non-polar vortex days! Today it hit 50 and it was impossible not to be out and about, soaking up the sun.

Fancy Cocktails! I almost always order beer when I’m out, but every so often I end up somewhere were the cocktails are too good not to pass up. Like the Basil Gin-Tini from Tonic.

What are you grateful for? Share in the comments!

Leave a Reply

