Picture This (1/24/14)

As you may have observed after reading Kyle’s post yesterday, it is really freaking cold in Pittsburgh. I’d also like to point out that we’ve gotten no more snow than usual. At least snow makes the cold a little more exciting.

That being said, there hasn’t been a whole lot going on here. The fact that we’re not in full on hibernation mode is a miracle. It was a short week for both of us (heck yes, MLK day) & I started my new rotation which is not in downtown. It’s pretty weird to get in the car and drive somewhere everyday, but I honestly did miss listening to NPR (nerd, I know).

This week consisted of…

A trip to Commonplace Coffee House on Saturday morning while Rascal was getting groomed. I treated myself to a lavender vanilla latte & it was as good as it looks.

2014-01-18 10.46.57

Blue Velvet cake making! I had so much fun making this cake- I really can’t remember the last time I made a cake.

2014-01-18 12.41.58

Rascal found a hat…

2014-01-18 15.07.11

& It turns out my hat looks good on everyone!

2014-01-18 23.24.33

On Sunday we went to the “Hippie Diner” my friend Ryan has been telling me about for a least a year. I didn’t realize he was describing it literally until we got there. The food was incredible!

2014-01-19 12.31.15

They also had placemats and Tupperware containers of crayons on every table. Kyle made a masterpiece:

2014-01-19 12.32.48

After our massive breakfast of eggs and toast and possibly the best hash brown’s I’ve ever had, I thought it would be a good idea to the bakery (it was a gluttonous Sunday). I’ve been meaning to stop by this bakery for months. I was not disappointed.

2014-01-19 13.26.26

Since I had off on Monday, I had scheduled a bunch of appointments. After a doctors appt., a bone scan, and several vitals of drawn blood- Kyle and I double dated at Nicky’s Thai Kitchen. Best Thai I’ve ever had, hands down (not to mention, I totally deserved a treat!).

2014-01-20 20.26.42

Spring rolls /\ & Pork Dumplings \/

2014-01-20 20.26.53

My Stitch Fix came this week! This was my favorite piece. It was way to expensive and I agonized over it for days before realizing if I was putting so much thought into it I should probably just buy it 🙂

2014-01-21 18.31.45

I followed this car for a while on my drive home. Made me smile, and I had this song stuck in my head for a while.

2014-01-22 16.50.20

Rascal gets more camera time because he’s easier to photograph, but she’s my baby. She instigates Rascal into fighting with her constantly & keeps me company every morning (I’m always the first up).

2014-01-23 17.44.10-2

Now we’re driving across the state for Kyle’s niece’s 5th birthday! Fingers crossed traffic isn’t terrible!

2 thoughts on “Picture This (1/24/14)

  1. I love you guys!! Each picture is better than the last and who doesn’t love a timeline of photos with cute animals? Also that cake was insanely amazing and I am so glad I got to take it home! Best birthday cake ever!

Leave a Reply

